When Snow Gets In Your Eye

Picture 289When snow gets in your eye during the month of April, you groan. If your a lovely stone sculpture, I guess you just stand there and take it.

leucojum vernalis

leucojum vernalis

Cardamine glandulosa

Cardamine glandulosa

Along with some of the early spring plants that are already in blossom, we rely on our hardy nature to see us through.
Picture 290The nursery area…… is again covered. Deep breaths, we know most of this new snow cover will be gone by afternoon. The sun will shine and spring will find her way back to us. In the greenhouse, the growing seedlings hardly know what’s happening in the world outdoors. Until it warms up…….I’ll just hang with them! Picture 285 Picture 287

10 comments on “When Snow Gets In Your Eye

  1. I’m sorry for your snowfall. Your statue really caught my eye (pun intended) as did your sense of humor. Great Nursery & can’t wait to see it in full bloom. ~amy

    • Hi Amy,
      Just checked out your blog….beautiful! Will keep checking in and thank you for visiting our. Yes, a sense of humor is a must for dealing with Maine weather and the little upsets that sometimes accompany a farming life. The joys and rewards are great, so we take all else in stride. Your photos are gorgeous!
      denise

      • Hi Denise,
        I am from Vermont & we used to take a lot of family vacations on the coast of Maine. I’ve been in Alabama for 20 years, & we still feel the changes of the seasons here too, although nothing like Vermont. Amazingly, we had the same weather here. It climbed up to 80 then dropped into the upper 40s during the day & we got 35 degrees at night. Crazy weather. I had to bring in all my pots, but left my garden that night with crossed fingers there would be no frost. I will enjoy checking on your nursery/farm throughout the growing season for tips i hope to read. Thank you for the follow. ~amy

        • Hi Amy,
          just came in from the greenhouse for my third cup of tea. My dads family( mother’s side) are all from the Danby, Pawlet area in Vermont. We still make frequent trips over there. Hope your plants survived the fluctuating temps. We know soon that things will stabilize soon…….somewhat, it is New England, after all, things can change with a blink, as you know. Thank you so much for checking in.
          denise

        • Yippeee! A blogger familiar with a Vermont connection! I’m very happy to have found you. My plants did just great, I’m thankful to say. I hope yours did too. ~amy

      • Thank you so much, Denise. Yes, a life lived with a sense of humor is a far easier life to live. I agree with you 100% about gardening…no farms here, I live in 10 minutes away from downtown Birmingham. So I have small gardens, mostly flowers…but I’ve got strawberries, blueberries, grape vines, a peach, lemon & orange trees. I’ve got veggies growing along with herbs…I consider myself very spoiled & lucky to have all this with in my small backyard. Here is to dirt under our nails, & food on our tables! Spring, she cometh. See you in my reader! ~amy

  2. The photos are wonderful and almost tell the story; but your words add a wonderful dimension of meaning and of humanity.

    • Hi Leslie,
      Thank you for the correction, I made a quick change. Rick is not here this morning and I made the mistake of calling that beauty galanthus. He won’t know the difference, thanks to you. It’s a great little spring flower ( so is Galanthus!). Take care, Denise

Leave a Reply

