What’s Happening

Picture 463Picture 447During the last few weeks, aside from getting all that needs to be done outdoors, I have been sewing some aprons. I was inspired by some old pictures my friend Sally has from her earlier days traveling to Ireland. I think they were from the 1960’s. A few shots were of women wearing aprons. They were a wrap around style that most women wore over their house dress, to keep their good dress from getting soiled. Very smart. Very practical. We have lots of opportunity to get soiled around here, an apron to keep me a bit more tidy, seems sensible. I’m not sure about getting Rick to wear one, but I had no trouble convincing Emily (Noah’s “Pippy Longstocking” girlfriend) to try them on.Picture 456Picture 457 I do love the wrap around feature and the simple cut of this apron. They are cut in one piece, both front and lining, and I like that, too. I’ll try and whip a few up, using a lot of the fabric that was left to me by my grandmother. Finding the right buttons are also part of the fun.Picture 468
Outdoors, we are ready for opening day. Spending entire days working around the nursery and gardens, allows us the perfect opportunity to see the plants as they emerge.

Hepatica transylvanica

Hepatica transylvanica

Hepatica nobilis

Hepatica nobilis

The Hepaticas are always some of the first. The flowers open only when the sun is out. They have the most delightful and cheery little blossoms, a great addition to any woodland garden.
Peony veitchii

Peony veitchii

We think the peonies are just as attractive and interesting when they first come up, as they are in bloom. So much happening during this time of year…….plants emerging, lambs being born, baby chicks arriving, a bustle of life activity.
Jeffersonia dubia

Jeffersonia dubia

3 comments on “What’s Happening

Leave a Reply

