Winter Sheep Pasture

Picture 520Picture 532Our sheep flock is kept close to the barn in winter. We bring them home from their summer pasture, and this allows us to keep a close eye on them as we near the lambing season. Also, sheep don’t travel far in deep snow, and for what? No green grass to lure them over the hills or down into the lower field. No, they are quite happy to have a smaller area to roam, along with their reliable humans visiting them twice daily with hay and grain and fresh water. Green grass and sunshine are good, but their winter accommodation are not bad either. I am always struck however, at how different the sheep fields look in winter. So, here are a few photos of the sheep pasture in the winter. So different from those summer months when they’re speckled with sheep and strung with fencing ( which we spend endless hours during the summer months moving for intensive grazing purposes). This is the time of year we get the flexible flyer out, take a running leap from up by the barn, and sail down to the lower field. This often means going up and over a stone wall and , if you’re like me and prefer to sled without too much steering involved, through the hedges that divide the upper and lower fields. No fun unless you lose your hat and maybe one of your gloves along the way. All this fun takes your mind off of the long wait for spring and new plant growth. In another month, we’ll start sowing some of the seeds that have been ordered. Onions, leeks, parsley, and even some greens that will go into the hoop house as soon as the soil can be dug. With almost 3 ft of snow on the ground, it’s hard to believe those days are in the not too distant future. But I believe they are, I really do!Picture 535Picture 534

6 comments on “Winter Sheep Pasture

    • Hi Judy,
      Yes, the sheep enjoy their winter ” digs”, maybe a bit like going south for the winter. I am afraid that I have a bit of a reckless reputation when it comes to sledding, not many will ride with me these days, fearing that ” fast and furious” is my motto. I guess more snow ( a dusting) tomorrow and for the weekend…..it is beautiful though, don’t you think? I can tell from your own blog that you are embracing and enjoying the glory of winter, as well. Thanks for your kind notes, I am enjoying your blog and thoughts.
      denise

  1. As much as we complain about all this white stuff, it does make a pretty picture. Makes me think of the Bible verse that God makes our sins as white as snow. How Wonderful. They say that sheep our dumb, but I don’t think they are so dumb when they prefer their nice warm winter quarters over being outside and having to work hard to get their food. Pretty smart I would say. Have fun playing when you get the chance.

    • Hi Molly,
      There is truly something divine about the whiteness of the winter landscape. I love going down to the sheep pasture at this time of year, the field can be appreciated for its own simple beauty and not only for what it is able to provide ( in the way of forage) during the summer months. It is simply beautiful, and that is enough.
      The sledding is a favorite pastime that, even in my adulthood, can’t quite give up. I hope I am 100 and still at least considering a ride down the slopes on my flexible flyer. And yes, the sheep are pampered and ( I think) happy to be so. So good to hear from you,
      denise

  2. You brought back fond memories of sledding down the back hill to my grandparents’ farm! I have to admit, it’s been years since I’ve even thought about giving it a try.

    • Never to late…….and the conditions are perfect. We just got another 6 inches of snow last night, we’re up to at least 3 feet. looks like sledding will be an outing for some time! thanks for your kind words.
      denise

Leave a Reply

