Several Days Of Rain

Picture 1121We have had several days of rain and cooler temperatures. The rain has been needed, the gardens and woods have been very dry. We did manage to get all the squash, tomatoes, and eggplant in before the rain. Also, new rows of carrots and greens. The last of the peppers are in the greenhouse, happy to be under cover and a bit warmer. I have to admit we are a bit happy to have a few days of rain that forces us out of the gardens, keeps us from mowing lawns, and allows us to tend to some other less physical chores. Chores like baking pie! Rhubarb pie ! The rhubarb is giant right now and ready for picking. I don’t often make strawberry rhubarb pie, just straight rhubarb, the way my grandmother made it. I’ll share the recipe as best I can. It’s not written down, just in my head from years of making it along with her. So here it goes…….
First I make the crust, keeping it in the fridge to chill until I’m ready to roll it out. I use about 5 cups of chopped rhubarb ( cut into 1 inch chunks). In a large bowl, I mix the rhubarb, two cups of sugar, 1/2 cup of flour, about 1 tsp. cinnamon. I toss this around using my hands so that the rhubarb is well coated in flour and sugar. Then I add 3 well beaten eggs and mix this all together. Roll out your bottom crust, fill with the rhubarb, dot with butter, and then cover with top crust. I always bake pies for the first 15 minutes in a hot 400 degree oven, then turn it down to 350, for another 35 minutes or so. Let it cool quite well before slicing so the pie filling firms up a bit. I know that people who are more familiar with the strawberry/ rhubarb version are always quite surprised at how nice this pie is without the addition of a sweeter fruit( strawberry). Try it, and save your strawberries for shortcake( or better yet, make both kinds!).
In addition to all the rhubarb that’s being picked, a bounty of lettuce and greens are being harvested. Every meal now includes fresh greens. We’ve waited so long for this!Picture 1136

10 comments on “Several Days Of Rain

  1. Pies should always come first. there is something special about making an old family recipe. When one of my daughters married, her mother-in-law to be organized a two family search for favorite recipes and created a special “cook book.” which has become a family treasure.

    • What a great gift, so lovely to pass along those family recipes. I especially love the ones from my grandmother…..seeing her very careful hand writing, and little notes on the side, and smudges of whatever she was making. A treasure for sure! I am sure your daughter has appreciated such a remembrance of family history . thank you for sharing this!
      denise

  2. Thank you so much for the recipe, this is my favorite pie! Beautiful pie crust, would you like to share that also? Judy

    • Hi Judy, Thank you and I think rhubarb is my favorite as well. i love that sweet and sour combination. I always make my pie crust with very chilled butter and ice water with a dribble of vinegar in it. For a two crust pie, I use 2 1/3 cup flour, add 1/2 tsp salt, then work in about 12 TBLS of cold cubed pieces of butter, I work this with my hands until crumbly, then add the cold ice water. The measurement of ice water varies, but i would say I start by adding about 1/4 cup, and then add by the spoonful until the dough holds together. I often roll the dough up and chill for an hour or so. My grandmother was a terrific pie baker, always made the most wonderful crust. I learned so much from her! Good luck, enjoy the rhubarb while it’s fresh and ample, and thank you so much for reading!
      denise

  3. What a beautiful rhubarb pie….without strawberries! I’ve always added strawberries but I look forward to trying your grandmother’s recipe. I have a few of my grandmother’s handwritten recipes and cherish them.

    • Hi Annie, Those old recipes written by some special family member are the best. I get a bit teary when coming across one of my grandmothers, with her very careful writing. Especially those recipes that i can remember making along with her. Such fondness and wonderful memories of that! good luck with the straight rhubarb pie. Our wood cutting neighbor stopped over last night and finished off the last two pieces. Time for another!

Leave a Reply

